General retail shops in the Perth metropolitan area can rejoice this Christmas with 33 extra trading hours available to boost sales.

Between Saturday 10 December 2022 and 2 January 2023, general retail shops can choose to open 8am to 6pm on Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays.

From Monday 19 December until Christmas Eve, larger shops can choose to open one hour earlier from 7am to 9pm on weekdays.

Retailers considering taking advantage of these additional trading hours can be assured that although online sales continue to grow in popularity, Aussies still prefer to do their festive shopping in-store. The NRA & Retail Doctor Group Consumer Sentiment Report found that customers are prepared to cut back on day-to-day spending to splurge this Christmas, but retailers need to be at the top of their game in terms of price, competitiveness, customer service, and ease of shopping this year.

The National Retail Association reminds businesses that opening additional hours is optional and staff cannot be forced to work on Sundays and public holidays without their agreement. We recommend that businesses start to plan ahead by considering staffing, rostering arrangements and communicating your Christmas opening hours to customers. 

Summary of additional trading hours

 

Saturday 10 December 2022 8am to 6pm   
Sunday 11 December 2022 8am to 6pm
Monday 12 December 2022 8am to 9pm (Normal Trading)
Tuesday 13 December 2022 8am to 9pm (Normal Trading)
Wednesday 14 December 2022 8am to 9pm (Normal Trading)
Thursday 15 December 2022 8am to 9pm (Normal Trading)
Friday 16 December 2022 8am to 9pm (Normal Trading)
Saturday 17 December 2022 8am to 6pm 
Sunday 18 December 2022 8am to 6pm
Monday 19 December 2022 7am to 9pm
Tuesday 20 December 2022 7am to 9pm
Wednesday 21 December 2022 7am to 9pm
Thursday 22 December 2022 7am to 9pm
Friday 23 December 2022 7am to 9pm
Saturday 24 December 2022 8am to 6pm
Sunday 25 December 2022 Closed (Christmas Day)
Monday 26 December 2022 8am to 6pm (Boxing Day)  
Tuesday 27 December 2022 8am to 6pm (Boxing Day public holiday)
Wednesday 28 December 2022 8am to 9pm (Normal Trading)
Thursday 29 December 2022 8am to 9pm (Normal Trading)
Friday 30 December 2022 8am to 9pm (Normal Trading)
Saturday 31 December 2022 8am to 6pm
Sunday 1 January 2023 8am to 6pm (New Year’s Day)
Monday 2 January 2023 8am to 6pm (New Year’s Day public holiday)
Thursday 26 January 2023 8am to 6pm (Australia Day public holiday)

 

Download Factsheet